A bail bondsman can post your bail for a small fraction of your full bail amount if you are suddenly incarcerated for involuntary manslaughter. By signing your property over to a bail bondsman, you may be able to ensure your appearance at your criminal court hearing. Forms of homicide include a law enforcement’s justifiable killing of a gunman or in self defense an intruder, additionally, murder and manslaughter are also included. Categorized separately include involuntary manslaughter and vehicular homicide which are penalized differently. We at Ajua Bail Bonds would like to further elaborate on involuntary manslaughter.
Bail for California Manslaughter Cases
To determine bail for felony and misdemeanor crimes, California counties use bail guidelines preset by county judges. Involuntary manslaughter bail for charges starts at $50,000 and ranging from $50,000 to $250,000 is the bail for vehicular manslaughter. Penalties for involuntary manslaughter can include enhancements. The additional hit and run charge add five years to your prison sentence for leaving the accident scene.
Involuntary Manslaughter Sentence in California
With additional time in the community under the supervision of a probation officer, the minimum sentence for involuntary manslaughter is 2 years but the sentence average is 2-4 years in prison. An accompanied fine of up to $10,000 is part of the minimum sentence for involuntary manslaughter. A wrongful death lawsuit can also be a potential legal issue to contend with. If you’re convicted of involuntary manslaughter, you may have to compensate the family of the victim for personal injury expenses plus the amount of wages that the victim would have earned until their retirement.
California Vehicular Manslaughter
Depending on the nature of your criminal behavior, vehicular manslaughter is a misdemeanor or a felony in California. Though you may still be sentenced to involuntary manslaughter jail time, killing someone by accidentally driving through a red light is misdemeanor for example. A felony involuntary manslaughter, killing someone while driving recklessly over a sidewalk involves gross negligence, for instance.
Involuntary Manslaughter Charges
One year in jail under is the minimum sentence for vehicular involuntary manslaughter according to California Penal Code 193 b. Under California Penal Code 193 b, a felony vehicular involuntary manslaughter sentence may be 2,4, or 6 years in state prison. If you accidentally killed someone in an accident designed for financial gain involuntary manslaughter penalties can include 10 years in prison.
Realignment of Criminal Justice
Enacted in 2011, California Penal Code 1170 h criminal justice realignment, allows nonviolent offenders to serve their sentence outside of state prison in either their county jail or the California Department of Mental Health. You may be able to serve your involuntary manslaughter jail time near your family and friends rather than in a state prison if you committed misdemeanor involuntary manslaughter under California Penal Code 1170 h.
In the result of a death, negligent homicide is an act of criminal negligence. From what the average driver considers reasonable, criminal negligence while operating a motor vehicle is a gross deviation. A milder level felony than vehicular homicide is negligent homicide, which can you can get the charges reduced to.
Involuntary Manslaughter Felony
Your involuntary manslaughter bail and your sentence can be doubled should you be involved in a felony crime when you committed involuntary manslaughter. Known as a two-strike offense in California involuntary manslaughter felony charge, with a sentence of up to 25 years in prison.
Bail Bond Services & More in Selma & Fresno County, Atwater & Merced, Visalia & Tulare, Hanford & Kings, Madera County and the Central Valley of California
If you are facing such charges, call Ajua Bail Bonds to have your bail posted as quickly as possible so you can get your defense in order.